Oh Yeah. That’s America.

I often forgot that there’s an ocean between Northern America and Europe, that is Atlantic Ocean. Thus, I forgot that there’s one particular difference between the western culture we see in TV ie. Hollywood and European culture.

Few days back, we did a tour around Toulouse and when we stop at one of the main swimming pool (thanks to google translate) in Toulouse, I asked if we can ask if there is a teaching class for swimming. Weyson went to ask. Yes! They have it during Fall through winter. WTH?!

Centre Sportif Leo Lagrange

There's a basketball court in it too! Sadly (for Weyson) it's not for public.

The program is organised by the city council while there are two independent groups who teach the members according to levels and for longer hour than the program by the city council.

Then the question of attire came up. Men have to wear skin-tight maillot de bain (swimwear) while girls can wear anything they want. This is where the line appear.

I thought guys here wear boxers or something baggier, which I don’t really care. But wait. Yeah, That’s America! Instead, they wear speedos, which I will feel embarassed in. DON’T JUDGE ME! I DON’T LIKE THAT! I HAVE GLOSSOPHOBIA. I’m thinking of dropping this dream of swimming across Indian Ocean to Borneo. Kidding. It took guts to do that seriously. The speedo thing.

So, this is my lovely Marina with her song Hollywood. Enjoy!

In case you want to sing along, here’s the lyrics I ripped from lyricsreg.com.

American queen is the American dream
American queen is the American dream

She is a Polish girl in America
Tall, tanned hot blonde called Anya
I asked her ‘Why would you wanna be a hollywood wife?’
“Because I don’t want to end up living in a dive on Vine”
You’d do anything for a dime
Looking for the golden lie

[Chorus]
Hollywood infected your brain
You wanted kissing in the rain
Oh oh, Living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams
Oh oh, I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

I fight security making plays for me
As soon as I touch down in old LA, he said,

Oh my god, you look just like Shakira
No no, you’re Catherine Zeta
Actually, my name’s Marina

Your mind is just like mine
All filled up with things benign
You’re looking for the golden lie

[Chorus]
Hollywood infected your brain
You wanted kissing in the rain
Oh oh, I’ve been living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams
Oh oh, I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

American dream is the American queen
American queen is the American dream
Is the American dream
Hollywood infected your brain
You wanted kissing in the rain
Oh oh, I’m living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams
Hollywood infected your brain
You wanna kissing in the rain
Oh oh, I’m living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams
Oh oh, I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

Comments
2 Responses to “Oh Yeah. That’s America.”
  1. Hakim says:

    Europeans have always been notorious for their skin tight speedos. I feel quite at home now ahahaha!

    By the way, LOL @ glossophobia!

  2. 90nizam says:

    i was thinking about you hakim when i typed speedo. it was instantaneous. LOL!

Leave a Reply

